top of page
Search
  • Hank Thomas

Day One: August 22

With little time to actually work today, I spent most of my day getting my footing. I spent most of my summer working on this project so it took a couple hours to figure out how to best adapt my work to the school and school day. Tomorrow I will start with meetings by phone and in person to get a better handle on my understanding of Maumee Valley's unique building characteristics. I am certain that the more I know about the building, the more creative and effective solutions I will be able to access and implement.


Another way in which I plan to adventitiously propose changes to our energy infrastructure is through a prediction software provided by Energy Star. I created an account for Maumee Valley today and will hopefully have more information to plug into the software tomorrow. This government-run program will score our school as compared to similar institutions in similar climates. It will compare weather and climate data along with a host of building statistics to analyse the building and give tips as to how we could improve. I will use this program to inform the unique recommendations I put together for the school.


Tomorrow I am meeting with Mr. Miller and talking with my mentor, Mr. Ely, to discuss the building's systems and new energy measurement devices, respectively.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 13: Sept 10

Due to a lengthy GLP meeting and a doctor's appointment today, I was less productive than I hoped. Still, I was able to invest some time into figuring out our various electricity and gas bills. With M

bottom of page