top of page
Search
  • Hank Thomas

Day 9: September 4

Today I further organized the Treasure Hunt, sent out an email about it, and I have received a handful of responses already. I look forward to hearing fresh perspectives. In my independent study last year (the one that inspired me to do this one) my sponsor repeated often how important it is to avoid localized norms. People in the U.S.A often only talk with other Americans about climate solutions which results in less progress and a lower American standard. The U.S. is simply an example as many other countries and groups do the same thing. My point is that I have spent two weeks talking only to energy planners, salespeople, and maintenance staff. It is time that I heard from students for a refresher on their perspectives so that I can be sure to incorporate the best possible ideas in my projects moving forward. For any interested party reading this blog, the Energy Star Treasure Hunt will start at 11:45 this Friday, the 6th, outside the K-Center. It will last through lunch and will be a great opportunity to learn more about Maumee Valley and our energy usage while sharing valuable observations with the group.


I spent a good part of my morning talking with Mrs. Morrin and Mrs. Spencer. We talked about the impending Global Climate Strike, what it means, what it stands for, and why we should participate. We had an excellent chat and we all agreed that I should put together a spotlight presentation to explain why it is so important for us to strike as a global community. I know that this Friday's spotlight is already booked, but I will ask tomorrow about Monday's in the hope that even if it is booked the presenter will understand the urgency of information regarding the Strike. It's only 15 days away!


Tomorrow I also plan to schedule the rooftop trek and contact our energy provider because I didn't get a chance to do that today.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 13: Sept 10

Due to a lengthy GLP meeting and a doctor's appointment today, I was less productive than I hoped. Still, I was able to invest some time into figuring out our various electricity and gas bills. With M

bottom of page