top of page
Search
  • Hank Thomas

Day 7: August 30

I invested most of my time today in coordinating and exploring options for the Global Climate Strike happening on September 20th (changed from Sept. 27th). In the morning I prepared for my lunch meeting. By 12:35, the group had decided to explore a screening of some sort downtown at Promenade Park followed by a march to a prominent government building. Afterwards, I fine-tuned some details with Stephane and emailed the Mayor to get his views and perspective on feasibility. We also decided that it would be best to screen Greta Thunberg's TED talk which I have linked below. From there, we hope to march from the park to the Government Center where we've asked the Mayor to speak. We realize this is a big challenge and requires a lot of work in a very short amount of time, but it is symbolic of the monstrous task our generation is faced with if we intend to save life as we know it.


Later in the day I had the pleasure of speaking briefly with Mr. Graham of the Middle School about 7th and 8th grade participation in energy saving actions on campus. He hopes that middle scholars with an inclination towards conservation or energy science will be able to assist in my on-campus efforts. As luck would have it, I have been planning to host what Energy Star calls an Energy Treasure Hunt. The premise is such: a group of students, faculty, and staff walks the building -inside and out- searching for any and all ways in which our energy consumption could be lowered. This can also include energy production onsite. All these ideas (it is a brainstorm so all ideas will be written down and condensed later in a meeting) are then taken by the group after the walk to a whiteboard and sorted into three categories: No Cost, Low Cost, and Long Term. From this experience, I should learn more about all of the ways in which our energy portfolio could be improved and the group as a whole will learn the ways in which they can change the building's energy consumption from day to day. Ideally, the Treasure Hunt will inspire both myself and the participants to think more critically about energy and the way it's used.


On Tuesday I will lock in some details for the Treasure Hunt, add some pictures to my blogs, and start working on writing my proposals for the school's energy improvements.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 13: Sept 10

Due to a lengthy GLP meeting and a doctor's appointment today, I was less productive than I hoped. Still, I was able to invest some time into figuring out our various electricity and gas bills. With M

bottom of page