top of page
Search
  • Hank Thomas

Day 4: August 27

Updated: Sep 3, 2019

As I mentioned in my blog yesterday, I would love to participate in the Global Climate Strike and get our student body to do so as well. Tomorrow I will announce a meeting I plan to host on Friday with Stephane and anyone else who is willing to help lead a strike. I will hopefully be able to talk with Administration tomorrow as well to make sure that we are all on the same page and that we are working with the permission of teachers and Heads of School.


I spent a good part of my day investigating an organization today whose mission centers around charitable donations for schools to get solar panels on their campuses. I sent the organization (Sunpower) an email and hope they will follow up with me soon so that I can learn more about how solar could play into my long-term plans for Maumee Valley's energy portfolio.


In examining Maumee Valley's property in person and via Google Earth, I have mapped out the best rooftop and ground-mounted system locations for solar arrays. I found an online program today (pictured below) that shows what part of specific buildings receive the most sunlight annually. According to the program, the most profitable area for a rooftop system would be over both gyms and part of the athletic hallway. A rooftop system like this could save the school about $10,000 over the span of the next 20 years. A similar ground-mounted system could have comparable savings. I think the best location for a system like that would be north of the Middle School soccer fields. I will continue to explore other options and solar opportunities tomorrow.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 13: Sept 10

Due to a lengthy GLP meeting and a doctor's appointment today, I was less productive than I hoped. Still, I was able to invest some time into figuring out our various electricity and gas bills. With M

bottom of page