top of page
Search
  • Hank Thomas

Day 12: Sept 9

Today I finally figured out what I want to do for my final project. As I planned for this intensive, I had intended to write the two proposals I have talked about in earlier blogs, but recently the idea hasn't felt like the right way to finish my intensive. Alternatively, what I brainstormed today was a handful of proposals wherein each piece recommends and justifies energy conserving responses to problems on campus. Mr. Miller and his maintenance team have a list of projects which they will be spending time and money on anyways which makes those points of improvement excellent times to make energy conscious decisions. I hope to identify what exactly Mr. Miller hopes to update and renovate in the near future so that I can start working on some research and recommendations.


Beyond that, my day mostly included some correspondence with my mentor regarding Maumee Valley's Energy Star Portfolio which I have set up. I am still having some difficulties inputting data so Mr. Ely helped me with that as well. I hope to have it figured out and have the data recorded in the system within the month. This is a high priority for me because I know that if we can get all the energy and water bills into Energy Star, someone could very easily take over my position after I graduate. Along with the Energy Star Portfolio, I also hope to leave my notes, plans, and any other useful information in a shared Google Drive so that the next person who feels motivated to lower MV's energy costs can start where I left off. That work, I assume, will be what I do during the fall rotation.


As I mentioned before, tomorrow I will continue working on Energy Star calculations and my presentation for Thursday.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 13: Sept 10

Due to a lengthy GLP meeting and a doctor's appointment today, I was less productive than I hoped. Still, I was able to invest some time into figuring out our various electricity and gas bills. With M

bottom of page