top of page
Search
  • Hank Thomas

Day 10: Sept. 5

Updated: Sep 7, 2019

Today was fun. I got up on the roof, prepared for the Treasure Hunt, and started a short spotlight PowerPoint for Monday. I talked briefly today with Dr. Macek and Ms. Wells about a short spotlight I plan to give on Monday to inform the community about the dangers of climate change. Something I noticed today about people's attitudes towards energy and climate scared me. Even when talking to progressive people who acknowledge climate change and know something needs to be done, they are reluctant to talk about the issue, attend meetings, or participate in activities like the Treasure Hunt. Although this doesn't apply to everyone, it is a startling pattern for many reasons. The UN recently released a jarring report saying that life as we know it can only be saved by tremendous and widespread effort over the next 12 years. Even the most aggressive commitments in the Paris Climate Agreement may not be enough to save our species. This means that stopping climate change must be a priority for everyone. We have lost the privilege of saying things like, "climate change is an issue for scientists and governments." 20 to 30 years ago that would have been a fine statement, but since then, those two groups haven't done enough and haven't had the support necessary to achieve what must be achieved. It is now everyone's responsibility to be researching, conserving, and pushing governmental and institutional change.


Even talking about these dire circumstances makes me slightly queasy; I digress. There is a lot happening to halt climate change and scientists still say that our survival is possible with the right efforts. In that vein, I spent a fantastically interesting afternoon with Mr. Miller examining the roof of the Upper School. There are two very concrete things I learned up there, but it also served as excellent perspective as I continue to investigate changes to the building.

1. I was able to see in person (and not on Google Earth) the area that may be covered with solar arrays if a rooftop system was deemed useful.

2. The roof above the dining room and out the window from the science wing was installed in a bind and does not drain properly. The sitting water that results from this plus the leaves from trees nearby makes that roof a cesspool and constant problem for Mr. Miller and his team. I'd like to find a way to solve this problem while also making our campus more earth friendly. Perhaps a green roof is in order...


Tomorrow I have scheduled a tour of First Solar and will host the Treasure Hunt.








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 13: Sept 10

Due to a lengthy GLP meeting and a doctor's appointment today, I was less productive than I hoped. Still, I was able to invest some time into figuring out our various electricity and gas bills. With M

bottom of page